Câmara de Lobos
The story goes that when the sailor João Gonçalves Zarco discovered Câmara de Lobos, he was astonished at the number of sea lions he found, which led him to name the county as he did (chamber of sea lions).
In the centre of the town, the São Sebastião church, built in the 16th century and restored in the 17th and 18th centuries, boasts an intricate gilded altar which is well worth visiting.
Also worth visiting is the Convent of São Bernardino de Sena, of the Friars Minor Order, which had its origin in an oratory founded around the middle of the 15th century. This temple has the distinction of having hosted the saint Friar Pedro da Guarda, and Mary Jane Wilson, a figure of great importance to the island.
The Forno da Cal (Lime Kiln), situated in Sítio da Trincheira and considered one of main legacies of industrial limestone archaeology in Madeira is another place to visit. It was built in 1874 and continued working up to 1960. The council purchased the space in 1983, where it ran a cat fish drying industry. Currently the kiln is part of the seafront project of Câmara de Lobos, which includes the Salinas and all of the Trincheira area. In the centre of the town is the modern Museu da Imprensa (Press Museum) of Madeira, showcasing a significant collection of machines from different printers in the region. Nearby you will find the Henriques & Henriques Wine Cellar of the Henriques family which is one of the great wineries of the island.
Other points of interest:
Built in 1883, the cast iron Municipal Pavilion is a relic of the past with 12 columns standing in the Autonomia Square in the centre of Câmara de Lobos.
This church was founded on the 16th of April 1931 by a group of women of the faith, and it can be seen in Caldeira. The monastery survives thanks to the work of the nuns, namely by making communion wafers and doing manual work.
Chapel of Nossa Senhora da Conceição
Founded in the late 15th century, the Chapel of Nossa Senhora da Conceição – located in the Câmara de Lobos town centre and classed as a Chapel of Regional Cultural Value – displays works of the highest standard and paintings by Bernes. There. 17 works by Nicolau Ferreira and Bernes are displayed.
As one of the three parishes of Câmara de Lobos, the Carmo church is located in the place with the same name and dates back to 1962.
Church of Santa Cecília
A recent construction, from 2007, the Parish Complex of Santa Cecília in Câmara de Lobos is a project by the architect Jorge Luis Santos.
Chapel Situated on the site of Caminho Grandes e Preces, in Fonte da Rocha, parish of Câmara de Lobos, the S. Cândido chapel was founded in 1732.
Nossa Senhora da Piedade Chapel
The Nossa Senhora da Piedade chapel in the parish of Câmara de Lobos is located in Caldeira and its construction was commissioned in 1771.