Pico Fort - Saint John the Baptist
Situated 111 meters above sea level, Pico Fort is a construction of the second half of the seventeenth century, whose initial purpose was to serve as a gunpowder store of the city.
The building would gain another utility when hosting some learning workshops, which lasted until the nineteenth century. After that it had various uses.
Initially, this monument was called São João Fortress, later its name was changed to São Filipe, São Miguel and subsequently returned to its original name. In the mid-twentieth century, the old fort passed to the Portuguese Navy, there to be installed the Radio Telegraph Station of Funchal.
The enclosure of the fortress occupies an area of 2.750 square meters. Inside, the attention goes to a large vault cistern excavated in the rock.
The building was declared a Public Interest Building in 1943.
Visitors can enjoy, from the top of its walls, one of the best panoramic views of Funchal.